[Marvel Comics, 8.0]

Caroline Pruett:
I’m not sure why this title exists, although if the answer is, “So Steve McNiven can draw Steve Rogers’ strong jawline and windblown hair,” I’m not going to complain. I won’t lie — I wasn’t too sure what was going on in this issue. I get that the antagonist messes around with people’s dreams, and I get that it has to do with someone Cap knew in the war. The boundary between dream, flashback, and present action isn’t clearly delineated, and the exposition we get doesn’t help much. Still, this is a damn nice-looking comic, and a Brubaker-written Cap book is a good bet in the long run.
[7]

Jeffery Simpson:
I was doubtful that rebooting Captain America and splitting it into two titles was going to prove to be a good idea. Ed Brubaker’s been writing Cap for so long it’s surprising that he has enough stories to suddenly start putting out two books a month. Set in the present day Captain America seems to be the more superhero focused of the two, engaging Brubaker’s more science-fiction side that doesn’t get a chance to show itself that often since he stopped writing Uncanny X-Men. The art by Steve McNiven is fantastic, some of the best of his career which is saying quite a bit.
[9]

Jeff Stolarcyk:
Like Waid’s Daredevil, this new run of Cap is a welcome tonal shift for the character – I love all of Brubaker’s previous run on the book, but it’s nice to see the dark realism of the prior volume traded in for Hydra super-science and dream dimensions. Very hard to find fault with, especially with Steve McNiven drawing it.
[8]

